General Purposes and Audit Committee Mayoralty and Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee

Meeting held on Monday, 29 January 2018 at 6.00pm in the Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon, CR0 1NX

MINUTES

Present: Councillors Stuart Collins (Reserve); Simon Hall; Oliver Lewis;

Jason Perry (Reserve); and Tim Pollard.

Apologies: Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Jason

Cummings and Tony Newman.

1/18 Election of Chair

Following nominations, the Sub-Committee

RESOLVED: That Councillor Stuart Collins be appointed as Chair for that meeting of the Sub-Committee.

2/18 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting held on 4 December 2017 were approved as a correct record.

3/18 Disclosure of Interests

There were no disclosures made.

4/18 Urgent Business (if any)

There were no items of urgent business.

5/18 Nomination of Mayor for the Council Year 2018/2019

Nominations were received for Councillors Bernadette Khan and Badsha Quadir. Following a vote, the Sub-Committee

RESOLVED: To recommend to Council that Councillor Bernadette Khan be invited to allow her name to be submitted to the Annual Council meeting on 23 May 2018 for election to the office of Mayor for the Council Year 2018/19.

6/18 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

This item was not required.

The meeting concluded at 6.05pm.